A kid again…

Just when you think you’re all grown up…your parents come to visit and suddenly you’re a little kid again, jumping up-and-down with excitement. My parents are currently on their 16 hour journey to Shanghai and I can barely sit still I’m so psyched. Living abroad for almost 2 years makes time spent with my family a novelty. And unlike our last visit together (now over 7 months ago), this time we’ll have two full weeks to relax.

Just sitting here waiting for my parents...

After a few days at my apartment in Shanghai, we’ll be headed north to capital city, Beijing where we’ll stay at a traditional “hútòng.”From there we’ll trek to the Great Wall of China, and (weather pending), I intend to face my fear of heights and zip line off of it.

But what I’m looking forward to doing the most with my parents is simply eating (shocker, I know). I’ve gone from “kind of liking” East Asian food, to craving the stuff daily. I’ve even mastered cooking some local dishes with the boyfriend (our “eggplant, chili, soy, garlic, chives, ginger, pork” dish is heavenly). What’s even better is that the different cuisines of China’s various regions all offer up completely different flavours, so there’s never a want for variety: Shanghai-nese, Sichuan, Hunan, Yunnan,Uygher…and the list goes on.

Anyway, I can’t wait to spend time with my parents in some of my favorite local restaurants, chowing down different dishes and giving my folks a taste of “real” Chinese food (bullfrogs anyone?). Granted my Chinese speaking skillz are still limited (my breadth of vocab is on par with a four-year-child), but I DO know my food lingo…along with my beer lingo, wine lingo and dessert lingo. 🙂

I won’t be blogging during their trip, but you can check me out on my new favorite toy, tumblr. As if the world needs any more micro-blogging sites in the already saturated market of…yeah, whatever, I’m sold.

Leave a Reply

